The Joy In Now

I must admit, time is something that I often take for granted. For some reason I feel like I have an infinite amount of it at my finger tips. It is so hard to grasp the beauty in understanding that time is not promised. As I get older, I start to understand just what that means.

Living in Houston has been one of the greatest experiences of my life. The diversity, city/country feel mixed together, and the kindness of people have truly won a place in my heart. However, I have often wondered if this is my last stop! I mean, I am single, stable, and healthy…so, I guess having a ” sky is the limit” attitude will only encourage me to use my time wisely!

So, what do you do when you find yourself single and with time? For me, I take the opportunity to find all the things that put a smile on my face. So many people go to work and then go home. Then, they repeat the same thing over and over everyday. Well, I refuse to live a predictable life (my ADHD doesn’t agree either lol). Honestly, I use to think my adhd was one of my worst qualities. In actuality, it has encouraged me to make friends beyond my comfort zone, learn to dance as an adult, explore the painter inside of me, learn to sew, start a mini business, and travel to places I never thought I would go! Basically, it gives me life (aka I can’t sit still). So, what would you spend your last days doing? Or, do you find yourself taking time for granted?

Make a list

Most people consider this a bucket list! It’s just an opportunity to write down all the things you love and make them happen over the course of your life. Coachella should have def. Been on that list. I mean Beyonce and a band would have just set my soul on fire…and I would say next time…but it will never happen again. Missed moments like these encourage me to never take time and the opportunity to live for granted again! Think of three things. If they were no longer available tomorrow, what would you spend your time doing?

1.

2.

3.

Pick one and do them!!

Surround yourself with positive people that want more than a relationship. This has been one of the most consuming and depressing conversations I have ever had with people. Honestly, I am over it! I refuse to spend my time thinking about what I wish I had instead of enjoying my good health, ability to take care of myself, my mental stability, and all the things I do have! These things are not promised!

Let’s rearrange our perspective!

1. Surround yourself with people that have dreams beyond getting married *marriage is beautiful, but that’s not my end all, be all!

2. Try things you are not use to

* how will you know what you like and don’t like if you don’t try! Who cares if you embarrass yourself (laugh it off), who cares if you hate it (now you know right?)

3. Never let age stop you

* I actually tell people the age I feel. I refuse to let my age define my walk in life, the way I dress, or the things I enjoy doing. Now, don’t be immature and reckless. BE YOUR BEST SELF!!

5. Volunteer

*Everything is not about you. Thinking about yourself all the time can be exhausting. Do small things for others and allow your light to shine! Watch how much your life and their life can change just be serving someone other than yourself!

Try these things! I bet it will help lead you to a more joyful life today!!

-B

Leave a comment