Purpose Set

Have you thought about setting goals for the new year? Kind of stuck? Need a little help? Well, guess what? The new year is approaching and there can be an overwhelming pressure to create this long list of all the things we want to change in a year. Well…
But, there doesn’t have to be so much pressure to change, succeed, and be perfect.
Time to take a step back. What if I told you goal setting for the new year can be done in 20 minutes or less? What if the goals you set could really come true? How many times have we set goals and lost them two months into the new year? Time to get a new plan to help you actually see your goals come true. Time to grab a goal setting sheet for FREE and get started! I use to think that the longer the list, the more I was going to accomplish in the new year. So much for that. Through several attempts of failure, I realized three things…
1. Set Realistic Goals
2. Know that it will take time
3. Don’t Quit
These three things helped me learn key steps to creating a strategic visionary strategy to accomplish my goals personally, financially, spiritually, and emotionally. My simple strategy put my goals in a simple form that could be applied to my life. I didn’t have time to change my life to accomplish 20 goals. It just wasn’t reasonable. Now, I know the importance of setting realistic goals in my life. Achieving each one will take time and require me not to quit! Are you ready? Ready to set your goals? Need a little help? Well, download my goal setting sheet for FREE to help you get started. Let’s start the year 2020 with goals we can accomplish! “For I know the plans I have for, plans to prosper you and not to harm you.”Jeremiah 29:11
20200329_091211
Let’s be honest here, the phrase “find your purpose” has been jumping from mouth to mouth for some time now! I know for a fact I have been trying to “find” mine for some years now! What about you? Trying to “find your purpose”? Trying to figure out if there is more to life than the regular routines, mommy duties, cleaning up after students, or tedious cubicle work from 9-5?
I must admit, I had a period of time where I didn’t think there was more to life until…
I was inspired by these 5 different things that truly helped me see the purpose in a completely different way.
#1 Stop Trying to “Find Your Purpose” It Isn’t lost!
Through years of searching, what I have found to be true is that my purpose can not be found. I know I know! You might be thinking…” wait, what, or this can’t be true.” I am a naturally driven person. I am always trying new things, reading self-help books, and on a mission to become the best version of myself so that I will be ready to EVENTUALLY FIND AND “walk in my purpose”.
I guess deep down, I figured if you…
Try hard enough at being great
Involve yourself in as much as possible
You would eventually find that “thing”…
That thing to make you tons of money! That thing to make you overjoyed to get out of bed every day! That thing that attracted millions of followers to your account! That thing that left everyone knowing your name! I just knew your purpose would eventually end up finding you.
But, that’s not necessarily true! The busier I became, the harder it became to actually “find my purpose.The more I chased “it”…the more “it” seemed to run away from me! Talk about doing it all wrong.
#2 Sit Down, Calm Down, and Reflect Some
Who would have known I needed to do the exact opposite of “running around” to find my purpose. It kind of makes sense. If we spend all of our time doing “things”, then, I guess the only result is for “things” to occupy our minds. If our minds are occupied all day long until we finally crash and hit the sheets, then how could we possibly have any time to “find our purpose”.
Our culture is really big on “always” having something to do. If you are not doing something, then you don’t have anything to post to social media. If you don’t have anything to post to social media, then your life isn’t “really” valuable. All of these things can literally steer you away from why you were created to be on this earth.
Now, don’t get me wrong. I like social media and it brings a fun aspect to my life when I travel. But, I have to be very careful and strategic about my use. Or, it does have the potential to interfere with my purpose.
Here is my sit down, calm down, reflection routine!
20200403_101826
#3 Journal
When I tell you journaling has changed my life. OMG! I have journaled, blogged (a digital form of journaling), and written my thoughts on random paper for years. I find so many journals around my home. I just chuckle now. I get super excited to see what I have written inside. Journaling has been a part of my life for decades. In all honesty, it has changed my entire life. How?
Well, writing my ideas, thoughts, and feelings down, in my opinion, brings a sense of realism to my vision and dreams. In all honesty, everything that I have written down….HAS COME TRUE. I have journaled about my purpose from years ago…and although I was not ready back then to walk in it…my journals serve as a reminder I am on the right path.
#4 Be Patient With Yourself
Of course, we want everything on our terms and time. I mean, who wouldn’t? It sounds like a pretty sweet deal to me. But, I must be honest “finding purpose” is not on our time. Being that we were created by someone else, ( a higher being), God… we have to give up our human clocks and get with His time. His time does not align with ours for many reasons! Many great reasons! Trust me! Allowing yourself time to reflect and journal and “become” the person you were meant to be is the most important step in “finding your purpose” if you ask me. At least, it is the step I am “learning” to appreciate more and more every moment I can.
“Fall in love with the journey” – Rich Wilkerson
#5 Learn the Meaning Behind It All
It wasn’t until last year, I guess, that I learned the true meaning of purpose. I went to hear Steven Furtick preach at Lakewood Church. Steven’s sermon was titled “The Glitch”. It was about how our weaknesses, quirks, and unique traits are overlooked. In reality, those are the very things that can become some of our most valuable assets. So, I decided to purchase his book “Unqualified”.
As I was reading it, a massive revelation came through my head. Life isn’t about “finding purpose”! Purpose is not a one-stop-shop. It is not one destination along your journey of life. Purpose, in my opinion, is taking the time to
1. See exactly where you are in life
2. Finding the strength to be grateful for everything and everyone
3. Being willing to reflect and seek how you can be of purpose to those around you
… Life is about inspiring and loving those around us with what we already have…
It is about taking the time to love, care, and encourage other people right where we are in life. Yep! A huge part of my life has been dedicated to “finding my purpose”.
There is not one destination. There is not one thing.
It is an ongoing journey full of opportunities to share my gifts with the world, show kindness, and love others. Some days will have ups. Some will have downs. But, that is what life is all about. It is the feeling and urge that wakes us up in the morning and encourages us to go to work, do the things we are good at, and enjoy life the best we can. Maybe, your purpose is to be the best mom you can be for your daughter.
Or, maybe it is to be the best teacher you can be for your students. Maybe, it’s to paint that mural and share your voice to the world, shoot amazing photos that inspire everyone around you, befriend a neighbor suffering from depression, or sit and listen to a friend. Don’t underestimate the purpose you have right now!
So, for me…I had to stop looking and trying to “find” my purpose. I needed to realize and understand that purpose is ongoing and simply taking the time to be grateful and extend that gratefulness to others by sharing your gifts with the world.
And here…I have found my newest journey to share with you…Learning to Live From Enough.
20200329_152237
Dedicated to Kobe Bryant, my favorite basketball player, the one that inspired me to pick up a ball, the one that helped us see that one life, can bare so much purpose.

Leave a comment